Stykkishólmur, a town with municipal rights since 1987. It is named after a large skerry in the harbour, which is protected by the rock island Súgandisey. Stykkishólmur has been a centre of fishing, trading and transportation for the Breiðafjörður settlements for centuries.
In summer, daily sightseeing trips go out in the fjord on the Seatours (Sæferðir) boats, while the ferry Baldur connects Snæfellsnes with the West Fjords with daily sailings to Brjánslækur making a stop at Flatey.
A great deal of effort has been put into preserving the town’s old houses, and old buildings thus have a great influence on the appearance of downtown Stykkishólmur. The oldest house, Norska húsið (“The Norwegian house”), so called because the building materials were imported from Norway, was built by the merchant Árni Thorlacius about 1832. Árni began regular meteorological observations in Stykkishólmur in 1845 and they have continued uninterrupted to this day, the oldest continuous meteorological observations in Iceland.
he Danish days festival is held annually on the third weekend of August, when town residents and visitors celebrate with dance, song and various artistic events.
In 1879 a church was built in Stykkishólmur.It is one of the old houses that have now been renovated.Now there is also a new church at Borg.t It is a striking landmark from the sea as well as the land. It is open to tourists . Besides normal church services there are concerts fortnightly over the summer.
At Stykkishólmur there is the Library of Water, situated at a place with one of the most beautiful views. An American artist Roni Horn created and shaped the Library of Water. It is open daily in summer. There is also the Volcano Museum, a unique exhibition of international art and objects related to volcanic eruptions and their impact. Beautiful walking routes through town and to the beaches and view points.